Nominees Announced for 2019 Superintendent of the Year Award

(Austin)—Regional winners of the annual Superintendent of the Year (SOTY) award have been announced. Sponsored by the Texas Association of School Boards (TASB), the SOTY program has recognized exemplary superintendents for excellence and achievement in educational leadership since 1984.
Regional superintendents of the year nominated by regional selection committees are:
  • Carlos Guzman, Roma ISD, Region 1
  • Sharon McKinney, Port Aransas ISD, Region 2
  • Tina Herrington, Wharton ISD, Region 3
  • Charles Dupre, Fort Bend ISD, Region 4
  • Cody Abshier, Liberty ISD, Region 5
  • Walter Jackson, Brenham ISD, Region 6
  • Christopher Moran, Whitehouse ISD, Region 7
  • Paul Jones, Paris ISD, Region 8
  • Tylor Chaplin, Burkburnett ISD, Region 9
  • Roosevelt Nivens, Community ISD, Region 10
  • John Ramos, Castleberry ISD, Region 11
  • Bruce Gearing, Dripping Springs ISD, Region 13
  • Duane Hyde, Highland ISD, Region 14
  • Carlos Rios, San Felipe Del Rio CISD, Region 15
  • Tanya Larkin, Pampa ISD, Region 16
  • Keith Bryant, Lubbock-Cooper ISD, Region 17
  • Leandro Gonzales, Jr., Grady ISD, Region 18
  • Evelyn Loeffler, Sierra Blanca ISD, Region 19
  • Lloyd Verstuyft, Southwest ISD, Region 20
Candidates are chosen for their strong leadership skills, dedication to improving educational quality, ability to build effective employee relations, student performance, and commitment to public involvement in education. Local nominees are submitted to a regional selection committee, which chooses one nominee to send to the state selection committee.
The state committee will interview regional winners in Austin on August 23–24 and select five state finalists. The Superintendent of the Year will be announced September 21 at the 2019 Texas Association of School Administrators/TASB Convention in Dallas.
TASB is a nonprofit association established in 1949 to serve local public school boards. School board members are the largest group of publicly elected officials in the state. The districts they represent serve more than 5.34 million students.
Main Office
Region 4 Education Service Center
7145 West Tidwell Road Houston, Texas 77092-2096
713.462.7708 | PHONE
Region 4 is making improvements to the McKinney Conference Center and will invite guests to experience the difference in September of 2024.
Built with Kalibrate CMS .NET Framework