Change Font Size
Reset Text Size Reduce Text Size Increase Text Size

Driver Training

  • Our Business is Making You Look Good
  • Are You Leaving Transportation Funds on the Table?
  • Professional Development
  • Now Available! Online Bus Recertification. Online. On Demand. On Your Time.

Upcoming Events

 

Onsite Training

Bus Driver 20-Hour Certification

 

Bus Driver 8-Hour Recertification

 

Online Training

Bus Driver 8-Hour Recertification

 

Assessing and Evaluating School Bus Driver Records

 

Bus Driver Trainer Academy

School Bus Driver Trainer Academy

 


IMPORTANT UPDATE RELATED TO COVID-19 AND TRANSPORTATION TRAINING

 

Who Can Drive a School Bus in Texas?

School bus drivers are held to a higher standard of conduct than
average citizens, and there are specific laws that govern the conduct
of school bus drivers. For your own protection and the protection of
your passengers, you must know the laws and obey them.

To be hired as a school bus driver and begin to drive a school bus,
you must:

  • be at least 18 years old;
  • hold a Class B CDL with passenger (P) and school bus (S) endorsements; obtain through DPS office
  • pass an annual mental and physical exam required by Texas DPS; obtain through employer or DOT certified doctor
  • maintain an acceptable driving record in accordance with the Texas school bus driving record evaluation;
  • be certified in school bus safety education (completed a 20-hour School Bus Safety Certification Course - ESC Region 4) or be registered in a school bus safety education class and possess an Enrollment Certificate from ESC Region 4/DPS; and
  • be free of felony or misdemeanor convictions for a crime involving moral turpitude (conduct that is considered contrary to community standards of justice, honesty, or good morals).
 
School Bus Driver Training
  • The twenty-hour certification course for new bus drivers provides state-mandated training. Drivers completing this course will be certified to operate school buses in Texas. The cost for this training is $130.00. Register Here.
  • The eight-hour recertification course costs $60.00 per person and meets state requirements to maintain bus driver certification.  Register Here.

Class Participant Expectations

 

Class Make-Up Policy

Make-ups for bus driver training classes may be approved on a case-by-case basis and only for certain emergency situations.  Make-up approvals must be approved by Region 4's transportation department first who will then notify your district's transportation department.  Please note that no make-ups will be allowed for the first day of bus driver training.  If for some reason you are unable to make the first day of the class you must contact your transportation department to have your class rescheduled to a later date.  Drivers who are registered for a class and who do not attend and have not been canceled by their district a minimum of 48-hours before the beginning of the class will be invoiced as if they had attended and no credit will be given.


 

Reasonable Suspicion Video

Click the link for more information and to access the free training video.

 


 

 
This is a voluntary program designed to provide transportation professionals with information that will enable them to effectively observe, assess and report suspicious individuals, vehicles, packages, and/or objects. 
 
The training video is approximately 30 minutes and divided into three segments. 
 
Any questions related to this program should be directed to highwaysecurity@dhs.gov.

 


Contact Us!


Jerry Lashley
Director of Business and Operations Solutions
jerry.lashley@esc4.net
713.744.6854

 

Secretary Secretary
Emma McGarity Lynn Clarke
713.744.6303 713.744.6877
transportation@esc4.net  transportation@esc4.net 

 

7145 West Tidwell Road | Houston, Texas 77092-2096 | 713.462.7708
Built with Kalibrate CMS .NET Framework