Change Font Size
Reset Text Size Reduce Text Size Increase Text Size

Region 4 Educators and Districts Selected as H-E-B Award Finalists

Six school districts and seven educators from Region 4 were among the list of finalists for the H-E-B 2016 Excellence in Education Awards. Created in 2002, the H‑E‑B Excellence in Education Awards are designed to honor outstanding public school professionals and to thank them for their dedication and commitment. Finalists include:
Rising Star, Elementary:
Hilda Nanez, Green Valley Elementary, Galena Park ISD
Rising Star, Secondary:
Bree Welter, Ross Sterling Middle School, Humble ISD
Leadership, Elementary:
Tammy Verstrate, LaVace Stewart Elementary, Clear Creek ISD
Leadership, Secondary:
Michelle Nelson-Archer, Sartartia Middle School, Fort Bend ISD
Lifetime Achievement, Secondary:
Ann Linsley, Bellaire High School, Houston ISD
Principal, Elementary:
Dr. Michael Marquez, Margaret S. McWhirter Elementary, Clear Creek ISD
Principal, Secondary:
Angela Lundy‑Jackson, North Houston Early College High School, Houston ISD
Large School District:
Galena Park ISD and Katy ISD
Public School Board:
Humble ISD
Winners will be announced at the H‑E‑B Excellence in Education Awards ceremony on May 13, 2016, in San Antonio. The winning large district will receive $100,000 and the winning small district will receive $50,000. An early childhood facility will receive $25,000. If selected, one or more school boards will receive up to $25,000.

Click here for a list of all state finalists.

7145 West Tidwell Road | Houston, Texas 77092-2096 | 713.462.7708
Built with Kalibrate CMS .NET Framework